Somerset Ost

Somerset East, officially KwaNojoli since 2023, is a small historic town in the Blue Crane Route Local Municipality in the Eastern Cape, South Africa. It was founded by Lord Charles Somerset in 1825.

The area surrounding the modern town has had numerous names over the years. Hintsani, a Khoikhoi chief named the area Nojoli. As colonial influence moved further east, it was named Agter Bruintjies Hoogte, Somerset Farm, Somerset, Somerset East, and recently the town was renamed KwaNojoli.

Somerset East, at the foot of the Bosberg Mountains (Xhosa: Intaba kaNojoli), is known for its natural environment and for its provincial heritage sites and buildings. The forested, mountainous backdrop frames the town, with a number of hiking trails in the wooded Bosberg Nature Reserve. The area is a bird-watching destination, with other outdoor activities including trout fishing (rainbow and brown trout), malaria-free safari and hunting trips. The Somerset East Golf Club, one of the oldest in the country, was formally opened in 1897. The present course has 9 holes located at the foot of the Bosberg.

Notable buildings and monuments in the town include the Old Wesleyan Chapel, which houses the Somerset East Museum, and the Officers' Mess, which houses the largest permanent exhibition of paintings by the South African artist Walter Battiss. The Dutch Reformed Church congregation is the fourth oldest in the Eastern Cape. The Somerset East War Memorial also called the Delville Wood War Memorial is located at the western entrance to the town.

Annual events include the Biltong Festival, the Bruintjieshoogte Marathon, the Bruintjieshoogte Cycle Fest, the Walter Battiss Art Festival, as well as the Somerset East Agricultural show.

Stadtplan

More in Südafrika

Explore neighboring districts and regions for more experiences.